Many travellers find it hard to believe that Şirince, situated among scenic hills, surrounded by orchards and gardens, once bore the name Çirkince ('abomination'). The present name ('Charming') much better reflects the aesthetic experiences during a visit to this village.
While walking the streets of the old district of Edirne, it is easy to reach Maarif Street. There, at its southern end stands the newly restored building of the Grand Synagogue of Edirne (tr. Edirne Büyük Sinagogu). The fate of this building reflects the turbulent history of the Jewish community of Edirne, once very numerous, and now almost non-existent.
Selimiye Foundation Museum (tr. Selimiye Vakıf Müzesi) is the place worth visiting if you want to learn more about Selimiye Mosque complex and see historical objects from the Ottoman era, including clocks, furniture, metalwork, and famous Iznik tiles. It is housed in the Dar'ül Kurra Medrese, at the southern corner of the famous Selimiye Mosque that has been a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2011.
The mosque bearing the name of Mezit Bey was built in Edirne in the years 1440-1441. Initially, the building served as the quarters of the religious fraternity of the dervishes and a medrese. It was later transformed into a mosque. The complex of buildings surrounding the mosque also included a soup kitchen (so-called imaret), a bathhouse, and a hotel for travellers (tabhane). All these structures were destroyed by an earthquake in 1752.
Muradiye Mosque (tr. Muradiye Camii), was erected in the years 1426 - 1436, on the orders of the Sultan Murad II, who gave the building its name. This mosque is distinguished from other mosques of Edirne because of the tiles that decorate the mihrab and the walls of the prayer hall.